Aquaculture for all

Call for Nominations for the Scottish Aquaculture Awards

Technology & equipment Economics Education & academia +3 more

SCOTLAND, UK - The Crown Estate is calling for nominations and entries for the Scottish Marine Aquaculture Awards to celebrate the achievements and success of an industry that is vitally important to Scotland and its coastal communities. The awards come at a time of continued growth in a sector where Scotland is already a world leader.

Lucy Towers thumbnail

There are nine award categories and entries are welcomed from individuals, companies and other organisations involved in the Scottish marine aquaculture industry who:

• Employ the highest standards of aquaculture husbandry
• Supply Scottish marine aquaculture products to local, national and international markets
• Farm with a high level of environment awareness; and
• Deliver a high-quality product

The awards are held every two years to match the industry’s production cycles and development of new products and initiatives.

The nine award categories recognise the breadth of innovation and good practice from across the sector and include awards for stewardship, business development and for the company or individual that has made the greatest contribution to the industry.

Alex Adrian, Aquaculture Operations Manager, The Crown Estate said: “The awards offer an opportunity to celebrate what is best about the aquaculture industry in Scotland and the companies and individuals responsible for its success

“I’d encourage people to take part, as the awards not only recognise excellence but also showcase these achievements to a wide audience.

“The judges are always impressed by the range of high-quality entries, reflecting both the spirit of enterprise and the commitment to excellence, that characterise Scottish aquaculture.”

The Crown Estate provides leases for fish farms and works to develop the aquaculture industry. It has invested £1 million in Scottish aquaculture R&D over the last five years.

All submissions must be received by midday on Monday 9 March. A shortlist will be published in May with winners announced at a ceremony and dinner to be held at Prestonfield House in Edinburgh on 11 June.

The awards are sponsored by Skretting, Marine Scotland, Fusion Marine, Acoura Marine, EWOS, Highland and Islands Enterprise, Fish Vet Group and BioMar in addition to The Crown Estate.

There is a dedicated website for the awards at

Create an account now to keep reading

It'll only take a second and we'll take you right back to what you were reading. The best part? It's free.

Already have an account? Sign in here