Aquaculture for all

GAA Seeks Candidates for Innovation Award

Post-harvest Education & academia

GLOBAL - The Global Aquaculture Alliance has established a special award to recognise and reward innovative practices that overcome production challenges or mitigate negative environmental or social impacts at aquaculture farms certified under the Best Aquaculture Practices programme.

Lucy Towers thumbnail

The inaugural Global Aquaculture Innovation Award programme - sponsored by Novus International - was announced on 1 November during GAA's GOAL 2012 conference in Bangkok, Thailand.

Innovations can span the full range of farm activities, including wetlands conservation, feed management, water-quality management, effluent reduction, energy reduction, staff training, community relations, animal welfare, and health and nutrition.

Among the programmes objectives are to recognise significant and novel achievements in the aquaculture industry brought by individual companies or research groups and to distinguish unorthodox perspectives over technology applications in the industry that lead to a truly sustainable aquaculture industry.

Three finalists will be invited and paid by Novus to attend a semifinalist summit at the companys St. Charles, Missouri, headquarters in the summer of 2013.

The recipient of the award will receive a plaque, an all-expenses paid trip (including airfare, registration, hotel and meal expenses) to GAAs GOAL 2013 conference and a US $1,000 cash prize.

The winner will also get the opportunity to present the innovation at GOAL 2013, in GAAs Global Aquaculture Advocate magazine and in an online profile for the year of the award.

The award is open to all producers with active BAP certification. Candidates are asked send a one- to two-page narrative that includes the names of the author and applicant, the location and description of the facility, a description of the innovation and its environmental or social benefits. Please include high-resolution digital photographs that illustrate the facility and its innovations.

To submit a candidate, please e-mail GAAs Daniel Lee at The deadline for applications is 31 May, 2013. An awards committee representing varied stakeholders within the BAP Standards Oversight Committee as well as Novus representatives will review the award applications and determine a recipient.

In the future, GAA may expand the program to recognise additional sectors of the seafood value chain, as well as exemplary efforts in the areas of biodiversity protection, pollution reduction, waste minimization and energy efficiency.

Create an account now to keep reading

It'll only take a second and we'll take you right back to what you were reading. The best part? It's free.

Already have an account? Sign in here