Aquaculture for all

Shortlist announced for UK aquaculture awards

Awards +1 more

Thirty-eight companies, individuals and initiatives have made the shortlist for the 2018 Scottish Marine Aquaculture Awards.

The awards, run for the first time by Aquaculture UK, are now officially closed. The organisers have been overwhelmed by both the number of entries and standard of the submissions received.

Carly Daniels, from the National Lobster Hatchery, has been shortlisted for the Shellfish Farm Manager of the Year category

The awards are a unique opportunity to recognise individuals, companies or organisations that have made the most significant contribution to the UK’s aquaculture industry since 2015. A range of companies – from start-ups to established names – and their representatives have made the final shortlist, with nominees chosen on the basis of their high standards of innovation, responsibility in their approach to business and their environmental sustainability. They culminate in a spectacular awards presentation and dinner, hosted by Dougie Vipond, on Wednesday 23 May, during the Aquaculture UK exhibition in Aviemore.

Ten award categories, recognising the breadth of innovation and good practice from across the sector, will be contested. These include awards for innovation, business development, stewardship & sustainability, and an inaugural set of awards recognising the contributions made by the shellfish sector and the industry’s rising stars.

Entries were encouraged from individuals, companies and other organisations involved in the UK aquaculture industry, no matter how large or small, who:

  • Employ the highest standards of aquaculture husbandry
  • Supply aquaculture products to local, national and international markets
  • Farm with a high level of environmental awareness and deliver a high-quality product

Susan Tinch, Event Manager, Aquaculture UK, said: “This shortlist reflects the spirit of enterprise and the commitment to excellence that characterises the UK aquaculture sector. We would like to thank all those who entered and congratulate those who have made the shortlist.

“The quality of the entries across all the categories this year was exceptional and the judges took over a day to deliberate, before selecting the final nominees.

“The Scottish Aquaculture Marine Awards have established themselves as a key date in the industry’s calendar and Aquaculture UK is delighted to provide a platform highlighting all the excellent work taking place. We are all looking forward to a fantastic night on May 23.”

The awards are sponsored by The Crown Estate, MSD Animal Health, AFEX, Hendrix Genetics, Skretting, Acoura, EWOS, Scottish Salmon Producers Organisation, Scottish Aquaculture Innovation Centre, Elanco and Benchmark.

Marine Harvest's Robert Wyvill and Sean Anderson have both been shortlisted for the awards

© Rob Fletcher

The shortlist

Aquaculture Seafood Product of the Year

  • M&S Scottish Lochmuir Beetroot & Vodka Speybay Oak Smoked Salmon, Scottish Sea Farms
  • Native Hebridean Farmed Salmon, The Scottish Salmon Company
  • Moules Frites, Scottish Shellfish Marketing Group Ltd.
  • Wester Ross Sashimi Grade Salmon, Wester Ross Fisheries Ltd.

Finfish Farm Manager of the Year

  • Robert Wyvill, Marine Harvest (Scotland) Ltd.
  • Sarah Last, Scottish Sea Farms
  • Sean Anderson, Marine Harvest (Scotland) Ltd.
  • Paul Featherstone, Marine Harvest (Scotland) Ltd.

Shellfish Farm Manager of the Year

  • Carly Daniels, National Lobster Hatchery
  • Will Hancock, Fowey Shellfish Company Ltd.
  • Robert Lamont, Loch Ryan Oyster Fishery Company Ltd.

Aquaculture Supplier of the Year

  • Ace Aquatec
  • NAFC Marine Centre, University of the Highlands & Islands
  • Inverlussa Marine Services
  • AKVA group Scotland

Business Development Award

  • AKVA group Scotland
  • Scottish Sea Farms
  • Nutrition Analytical Service (NAS), Institute of Aquaculture, University of Stirling

Community Initiative Award

  • The Scottish Salmon Company – Community Fund
  • Loch Ryan Oyster Fishery Company Ltd – Stranraer Oyster Festival
  • Marine Harvest (Scotland) Ltd – Isle of Rum development initiative
  • Scottish Sea Farms – Heart of the Community Trust, funding on Orkney

Rising Star Award

  • Lynne Frame, Scottish Sea Farms
  • Scott MacKay, AKVA group Scotland
  • Barbora Gaborova, Wester Ross Fisheries
  • Kurk Jones, Marine Harvest (Scotland) Ltd.

Outstanding Contribution to Industry

  • Stuart Cannon, Kames Fish Farming
  • Stewart Graham, Gael Force Group
  • Steve Bracken, Marine Harvest (Scotland) Ltd.
  • Scott Landsburgh, Scottish Salmon Producers Organisation

Stewardship & Sustainability Award

  • Marine Harvest (Scotland) Ltd. – Helping to restore wild salmon stocks
  • Loch Fyne Oysters Limited – ASC-certified Hebridean mussels
  • National Lobster Hatchery – Lobster Grower 2
  • Scottish Sea Farms – a series of environmental improvements

Innovation Award

  • Playtime – environmental enrichment in a salmon hatchery – Loch Duart
  • Lobster Grower 2 – lobster on-growing system – National Lobster Hatchery
  • Enviro Nets for circular pens, as a means to tackle gill health issues, Marine Harvest (Scotland) Ltd.
  • Pre-pump, in-water electric stunner, Ace Aquatec

The remaining two awards – the Best Aquaculture Company and People’s Choice – will be announced on the night.

Create an account now to keep reading

It'll only take a second and we'll take you right back to what you were reading. The best part? It's free.

Already have an account? Sign in here