Aquaculture for all
The Fish Site presents: The Vienna Sessions - Conversations about aquaculture. 9 video interviews with aquaculture thought leaders. Watch here.

Future Policy Award 2012 Goes to Palau

Sustainability Politics +2 more

PALAU - The Republic of Palau is the winner of the Future Policy Award 2012. Palau received the Award in recognition of two outstanding marine policies (Protected Areas Network Act, initiated in 2003 and the Shark Haven Act from 2009).

Lucy Towers thumbnail

The two Silver Awards went to the Philippines for the Tubbataha Reefs Natural Park Act (2010) and to Namibia for its Marine Resources Act (2000).

FAO was a member of the international jury which felt the three winning policies contribute most effectively to the sustainable management of the worlds oceans and coasts for the benefit of current and future generations.

The winners were announced at the United Nations Headquarters in New York where Mr Carl Lewis, FAO Goodwill Ambassador, was also on hand.