Aquaculture for all

NACA Staff Awarded for Research on Genetics

JAPAN - A researcher from the Network of Aquaculture Centres in Asia Pacific (NACA) has been given an award for work on the molecular genetic tools in aquaculture, aimed at minimising impacts of aquaculture on local biodiversity.

Dr. Thuy T. T. Nguyen, the Coordinator of the Genetics and Biodiversity Program of NACA was one of the three recipients of the Japan International Award 2008 for Young Agricultural Researchers, writes Simon Wilkinson of NACA.

The award, from the Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries (MAFF) in Japan is administered by the Japan International Research Centre for Agricultural Sciences (JIRCAS).

The award was presented to Dr. Nguyen by Dr. Eitaro Miwa – Chairman of the Agiriculture, Forestry and Fisheries Research Council and Dr. Kenji Iiyama – President, Japan International Research Centre for Agricultural Sciences (JIRCAS), at a ceremony held at the United Nations University Auditorium, Tokyo, on the 11th of November, attended by over 150 dignitaries.

The award is intended to recognize and reward the contributions of young agricultural researchers to technological developments that improve food security and the environment in developing countries. Dr. Nguyen has been working with NACA on the application of molecular genetic tools in aquaculture aiming at minimise impacts of aquaculture on local biodiversity.

Amongst the dignitaries present at the awards ceremony were agricultural researchers from Japan, accompanied persons of the award winners and representative from the respective embassies of the award winners. From the Vietnam Embassy in Japan, Mr. Le Anh Thu – the Second Secretary attended on behalf of the Ambassador.

At the ceremony, Dr. Nguyen was requested to make a 15 min presentation on her work. She highlighted her recent contribution on development of broodstock management plans for mahseer species in Sarawak, Malaysia and that of the critically endangered Mekong giant catfish; and important implications for biodiversity conservation.

Other award winners are Dr. Xiaoyuan Yan, from Institute of Soil Science, Chinese Academy of Sciences People's Republic of China on his research Developing greenhouse gases emission inventories for croplands and evaluating their environmental impacts; and Ms. Maryam Ambundo Imbumi, Kenya Resource Centre for Indigenous Knowledge (KENRIK), Republic of Kenya on Promotion and research on African leafy vegetables for improved nutrition, health and incomes.

Create an account now to keep reading

It'll only take a second and we'll take you right back to what you were reading. The best part? It's free.

Already have an account? Sign in here