Aquaculture for all

New Appointments to Australia's Fisheries Council

Sustainability Economics Politics +4 more

AUSTRALIA - Minister for Agriculture, Food and Fisheries Gail Gago has welcomed three new appointments to the Fisheries Council of South Australia.

Lucy Towers thumbnail

Former Minister of Fisheries, the Hon Rory McEwen, has been appointed the new presiding member, while Port Lincoln-based industry expert Anne Tapley and Megan Dyson, a practicing lawyer with experience in fisheries legislation, join as new members.

Mr McEwen is the current chairman of the Southern Zone Abalone Industry Association and was Minister of Fisheries for five years (2004-2009), and Ms Tapley is a well-known expert from the commercial fishing industry and fish processing sectors.

Ms Dyson helped prepare the revised Fisheries Management Act 2007, as well as the PIRSA Allocation Policy now adopted and used in the development of fishery management plans.

The Fisheries Council plays a pivotal role in the preparation of fishery management plans, the promotion of co-management of fisheries, as well as research, education and training related to fisheries and their management.

Minister Gago said the expertise of the Council was integral in guiding the development of the state’s fishing industry, and it was key to the success of the Council that it continues to attract high-calibre experts in the fisheries field to its membership.

“South Australia is widely viewed as a world leader in fisheries management and the Fisheries Council plays a key role in shaping the sector,” Ms Gago said.

“Selection is expertise-based, with members chosen for their knowledge and experience in fisheries management, commercial and recreational fishing, Aboriginal traditional fishing, research and development, socio-economics, business and aquatic resource conservation.

“The advice provided by members contributes to the ecologically sustainable development of our fisheries resources for the benefit of the South Australian community.”

As well as three new members, four existing members have also been reappointed to the Fisheries Council following an extensive recruitment process: Dr Anthony Smith AM, Catherine Barnett, Debra Ferguson and Michelle Grady.

Minister Gago thanked outgoing Chair Catherine Cooper, who has led the Council for the last six years and could not be reappointed in accordance with the Act, for providing valuable input and experience during its formative years.

Create an account now to keep reading

It'll only take a second and we'll take you right back to what you were reading. The best part? It's free.

Already have an account? Sign in here