Aquaculture for all
The Fish Site presents: The Vienna Sessions - Conversations about aquaculture. 9 video interviews with aquaculture thought leaders. Watch here.

Eastern Shore Interests Well Represented on Advisory Board

US - The Department of Environmental Quality has asked a number of Eastern Shore residents to participate on a technical advisory committee for regulation development of Aquaculture Enhancement Areas on the Eastern Shore.

It also will develop criteria to provide additional protection to these waters that are used or could reasonably be used for shellfish aquaculture or to support aquaculture by requiring applicants to demonstrate that practicable alternatives to discharging pollutants to the listed waters have been evaluated and that the proposed discharge is the alternative that produces the least environmental impact.

Those asked include: Chris Moore, Chesapeake Bay Foundation; Steve Parker, The Nature Conservancy; John Chubb, Citizens for a Better Eastern Shore; Butch Nottingham , Accomack County Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services; Jane Corson-Lassiter, Eastern Shore Soil and Water Conservation District; David Hickman, vegetable grower; Robert Bloxom Jr., Aquaculture Advisory Board member; Mike Peirson, Northampton County bayside; Andy Drewer, Accomack County bayside, Pete Terry, ocean side; John West, ocean side; Ralph Dodd, real-estate agent; Horace Seybolt, seaside landowner/developer; Terri Long, Cheriton Town Council; Robert Ritter, Chincoteague Town Manager; Tom Bonadeo, Town of Cape Charles Planning; Elaine Meil, Accomack-Northampton Planning District Commission; Mark Luckenbach, VIMS Eastern Shore Laboratory; Marcia Berman, VIMS land use related to aquaculturel; George Gowen, a citizen with a background in water issues and community involvement; John Tankard, nursery owner, VMRC member.

Technical support will come from the Virginia Department of Health (Dan Alexander, Robert Croonenberghs and Eastern Shore staff), the Department of Conservation and Recreation (Lee Hill and staff) and the Department of Environmental Quality (Alan Pollock, James McConathy, Elleanore Daub, Vijay Satyal, Laura McKay).