Aquaculture for all
The Fish Site presents: The Vienna Sessions - Conversations about aquaculture. 9 video interviews with aquaculture thought leaders. Watch here.

New Directors Appointed to Guide Fisheries Research, Development

Sustainability Politics Education & academia +3 more

AUSTRALIA - Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry, Senator Joe Ludwig, has announced the appointment of new directors to the Fisheries Research and Development Corporation (FRDC).

Lucy Towers thumbnail

Minister Ludwig said the new directors, along with those re-appointed for a second term, will support the FRDCs vision to plan, invest in and manage fisheries research and development throughout Australia.

The Australian Government recognises the importance of the Australian fishing industry, not only to provide world class seafood, but to support regional jobs and boost tourism, Minister Ludwig said.

This new board, chaired by the Hon. Harry Woods, offers the knowledge and skills necessary to achieve balance across the range of fisheries research and development issues.

Minister Ludwig congratulated re-appointed directors, Ms Heather Brayford, Ms Renata Brooks and Mr Brett McCallum, along with new directors Dr Bruce Mapstone, Dr Peter OBrien and Mr David Thomason.

The necessary time was taken to select the new board to guarantee the best possible combination of experience and expertise.

Boards work best when they have a wide range of skills and life experience and it was important to get the selections right, Minister Ludwig said.

Mr Woods and the new board has the expertise to guide the extension of new insights to the fishing industry and the wider community.

I look forward to working with the new board as it guides the research and development to support a sustainable and innovative fishing industry in Australia.

The Minister acknowledged outgoing members Mr Stuart Richey AM, Mr Richard Stevens OAM, Dr Daryl McPhee and Professor Keith Sainsbury for their service to the corporation.

The previous boards term expired on 31 August 2012. The new board was selected under processes established in the Primary Industries and Energy Research and Development Act, and will hold its first meeting on 27 November 2012.