Aquaculture for all

EU's chief aquaculture advisors elected

People Politics

The chief executives of the EU’s Aquaculture Advisory Council (AAC) were elected by the body’s general assembly last week.

Javier Ojeda was elected as chair; Marc-Philip Buckhout as first vice-chair and Addy Risseeuw as second vice-chair and treasurer. All are due to serve three-year terms.

The event was hosted by the Flemish authorities in Brussels on 10 September

The AAC is a stakeholder-led European representative organisation that provides the European Commission and EU countries with recommendations on aquaculture management. The AAC presently has 57 members from 16 member states. It composed of representatives from the aquaculture industry and other groups interested in aquaculture (NGOs).

At the event, which was hosted by the Flemish authorities in Brussels, AAC members renewed their executive committee and welcomed the Croatian Aquaculture Association (within the Croatian Chamber of Economy) as a new member. The 2020 budget was also approved, together with the AAC’s work programme for 2020.

Since 2017, the AAC has been providing advice on any legislative, regulatory or legal matter at European or national level related to the sustainable development of EU aquaculture.

Create an account now to keep reading

It'll only take a second and we'll take you right back to what you were reading. The best part? It's free.

Already have an account? Sign in here