SeaFish appoints new members

The Fish Site
by The Fish Site
2 July 2007, at 1:00am

UK - A new chair and two new members have been appointed to the board of the Sea Fish Industry Authority, also known as Seafish.

Charles Howeson is now chairman. He has more than ten years experience in the private, public and voluntary sectors and is a member of the National Consumer Council for Water. He is chairman of its Western Regional organisation.

Cahrles also chairs five other boards, covering a range of specialist expertise. He is also a director of First Great Western Trains and the Duchy of Somerset’s Estates.

Iain MacSween joins the board. He has been chief executive at the Scottish Fishermen’s Organisation for 27 years and is chairman of Seafood Scotland and the Scottish Association of Fish Producers’ Organisations. He is President of the Pelagic Advisory Council.

Michael Park, who has more than 30 years experience in the Scottish fishing industry, also becomes a board member. He is chairman of the Scottish White Fish Producers Association and currently serves as director of six companies including Denebula Ltd, Scottish Fishermen’s Federation Services, the Fishermen’s Trust and Seafood Scotland.

DEFRA says that the appointments bring to Seafish a valuable depth of experience and knowledge to Seafish. All appointments are for three years, with effect from 1 July 2007.