Aquaculture for all

Poland Signs Up to EUROFISH

Economics Politics +2 more

POLAND - Mr. Kazimierz Florian Plocke, Secretary of State for Agriculture and Rural Development of Poland, signed the EUROFISH Agreement at the Food and Agriculture Organisation of the United Nations in Rome yesterday.

With the signature of the Agreement, which has to be ratified by the Polish Parliament, Poland has taken a decisive step towards becoming a member country of EUROFISH.

The initiative of Poland to join EUROFISH is a strong sign of recognition from a leading Central and Eastern European country with an important fisheries and aquaculture industry, of the role that EUROFISH plays as a regional organisation for the development and trade of fisheries and seafood in Europe.

The Agreement for the Establishment of the International Organisation for the Development of Fisheries in Eastern & Central Europe (EUROFISH) was adopted on 23 May 2000 and became effective on 12 October 2001 when it was signed by five countries. The Director General of FAO is the Depositary of the Agreement. Currently the member countries of EUROFISH are Albania, Bulgaria, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Romania, Spain and Turkey.

Create an account now to keep reading

It'll only take a second and we'll take you right back to what you were reading. The best part? It's free.

Already have an account? Sign in here