Aquaculture for all
The Fish Site presents: The Vienna Sessions - Conversations about aquaculture. 9 video interviews with aquaculture thought leaders. Watch here.

Re-Appointment To Mid-Atlantic Fishery Council


US - The Commerce Department has announced the reappointment of John McMurray of New York to the Mid-Atlantic Fishery Management Council. Under this appointment, Mr McMurray will serve on the council until 10 August, 2014.

The Mid-Atlantic Fishery Management Council is one of eight regional councils established by the Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act that prepare fishery management plans for marine fish stocks in their respective geographical areas of responsibility.

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administrations (NOAA) Fisheries Service works closely with the councils during plan development and also reviews, approves and implements the management plans developed by the councils.

Council members represent diverse constituents including commercial and recreational fisheries, environmental interests and academia. Each year, the Secretary of Commerce selects approximately one-third of the total of 72 appointed members to the eight regional councils. Twenty-one were named or reappointed in June, for terms which began on 11 August.

NOAAs Fisheries Service annually solicits nominations from the governors of fishing states and oversees the annual appointment process. The Secretary must select council members from the list of nominees provided by the governors to fill obligatory and at-large seats that have become available due to an expiring term, a resignation or other reasons.

Obligatory seats are state-specific, while at-large seats can be filled by a person from any of the states in the region. Council members serve three-year terms, and may be reappointed to serve up to three consecutive terms.

Mr McMurray is owner and primary operator of One More Cast charters. During his first term on the council, he was an active member, serving as chair of the Councils Law Enforcement Committee, vice-chairman of the Ecosystems/Ocean Planning Committee, and a member of the Executive Committee.